Are your licensing courses recognized by the state?
All classes are approved by the Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC) and meet the education requirements needed to become a licensed real estate agent in Florida.
Here are the steps to become a Florida real estate professional:
SALES ASSOCIATE INITIAL APPLICATION (RE 1)
A sales associate is a person who, for another, and for compensation or in anticipation of compensation, appraises, auctions, sells, exchanges, buys, rents or offers, attempts or agrees to appraise, auction, or negotiate any sale, exchange, purchase, or rental of business enterprises or any real property or any interest in or concerning the same or who advertises the same, but who performs such act under the direction, control, or management of a broker or owner/developer.
Disclaimer: By clicking any of the below links, you are leaving the School of Real Estate Geeks website and will go to a website that is not operated by School of Real Estate Geeks. The School of Real Estate Geeks is not responsible for the content or availability of linked sites.
|Application Requirements |
AGE: Must be at least 18 years of age.
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: You must have a United States Social Security number to apply. You may visit the Social Security Administration website for information on how to obtain one.
EDUCATION: Must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.
PRE-LICENSE EDUCATION: Prior to sitting for the state exam you must show proof of course completion of Florida approved 63 hour pre-license education for sales associates. The course is good for two (2) years from the date of completion. An expired course will not be accepted at the exam site and you will not be able to sit for your exam without proof of a valid course completion slip. The course is not required at the time of application submission. You may submit application for state exam approval prior to taking the pre-license education. See the list of approved providers.
EDUCATION EXEMPTIONS: If you hold a 4 year degree, or higher, in real estate you may be exempt from the pre-license education requirement. In order to determine your exemption please submit an original certified transcript with your application for review. If you wish to submit prior to application, please send an original certified transcript with cover letter to: Division of Real Estate, Attention: Education Section, 400 West Robinson Street, Suite N801 Orlando, Florida 32801.
EXAMINATIONS: The examination is given by Pearson Vue. To Learn more visit their website to find a location near you to set up your exam once the application has been approved by the DBPR. To schedule by phone call 877-238-8232. The Candidate Information Booklet is a useful source to help guide you through the examination process.
FEE: Pay the required fee as provided in the application. Military veterans, their spouses and Florida National Guard members may be eligible for a fee waiver, fee reimbursement, and/or fee discount. Please visit the DBPR Military Services page for more information.
FINGERPRINTS: An applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process. You must submit your fingerprints using a Livescan Service Provider registered with FDLE immediately after submitting your application for licensure. It may take up to five days for your fingerprint results to be received by the Department after they are submitted to the Florida Department of Law enforcement (FDLE). Please note that the Florida Department of Law Enforcement requires that an application for licensure should precede the submission of your fingerprints. To learn more about fingerprinting, please visit our Fingerprinting webpage.
APPLICATION: Complete the application by clicking on the “Online Services” link or the “Printable Application” link at the bottom of the page.NOTICE FOR APPLICANTS SUBMITTING FINGERPRINTS WHERE CRIMINAL RECORD RESULTS WILL BE USED FOR LICENSING PURPOSES
MORE INFORMATION: Learn more about obtaining this profession (use the back button or arrow to return to this page).
|If you have questions or need assistance in completing this application, please call the DBPR Customer Contact Center at 850.487.1395 or use the convenient contact form.|
How to apply with the State of Florida:
- Register with the DBPR (Department of Business and Professional Regulation); create a username and password. DBPR website
- Submit an application to the DBPR via online or via using a printable application: DBPR_RE_1_Sales_Associate_Application
- Complete your electronic fingerprinting via Pearson Vue. Then the vending site will send the fingerprinting results electronically to the DBPR to attach to your application.
- Finally, once you complete your 63 hour Pre-License Course and pass your class exam you can make your appointment to take the Florida State Exam.